thoughts about a saggy, baggy bicycle tire

I rode my bicycle into town with my teenager yesterday, dismayed that the trip felt uphill both ways. Now admittedly, I’m no Lance Armstrong, but I ride, walk and have been known to (brace yourself) run, on occasion. So I’m not completely out of shape.

However, the moment I dismounted my bicycle because I couldn’t stand the burning in my legs and lungs any longer, I considered visiting a cardiologist.

I walked the rest of the way home.

This whole scenario played out again when we rode in to town together today. (I suppose I figured my body would work better after sleeping the whole thing off a night.)

“Hey, buddy, do my tires look flat?” I’d checked them before we left, but figured I’d check mechanical failures once more before putting my body out to pasture.

“Wow, yeah, the back one’s flat as a pancake.”

Well, there you have it.

Riding a bicycle with a saggy, baggy tire might even make Lance Armstrong a little winded.

Okay, maybe not.

But still.

And I’m reminded how hard life can be when I travel around, low on the breath and life of God. Putting off reading my Bible. Skipping church one weekend. Trying to solve problems myself without seeking prayer and His free wisdom first.

All of life seems uphill.

I found this verse in Matthew, which inflated my heart and mind this morning.

Maybe it will yours, too:

“Are you tired? Worn out? . . . Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Matthew 11:28-30 TMV

“The unforced rhythms of grace.”

Wow.

I love that.

*****

What about you?

How do you know when your proverbial tires are low on air?

Do you remember to check your tire pressure regularly?

Or do you skid onto the open road and figure out how flat you are when you’re miles from home and a tire pump?

8 thoughts on “thoughts about a saggy, baggy bicycle tire

  1. Amy, what a vivid analogy of how much we need God’s breath in our life to give us the energy we need to endure. Thanks so much for this today.

  2. Irritability! Thats when I know I havent connected to my Lord. Sometimes I will study but for purposely of other than just seeking God’s face. And the minute that I feel His presence I’m released from the low pressure. =)

  3. I tend to feel unworthy of His time. This is exactly why I love reading your site, Amy. Your words always give me strength to move toward Jesus and ask for His help, when I am helpless, which is often, it seems.

    • Wow, Cynthia, I’m so humbled at your words. I’m such a broken vessel! But I’m so praising God that anything I have to offer Him helps you. Blessings and prayers and hugs to you, sweet one!!!

  4. After passing Birthday (big one) I made an appointment for my annual check up. I am looking forward to him saying I am doing better than I feel some days. As one of my readers says, there is still lots to be done – so time to air up the tires.

Leave a Reply

